Reality and Sweeping The Temple

Hi.  Yeah, I found it.  Or got it.  Or arrived.  Or insert your favorite word to describe that place you arrive at that is your reality.  My reality is that I’m broken.  I’m healing.  I’m traveling.  I’ve arrived at the finish/starting line of myself.  Of who I am in Him when I look in the mirror.  Of who I am becoming in Him every day that I decide to be healthier than I was the day before. 

Disclaimer: Dont mind the punctuation, grammar, sentence structure or the like…at times my ramblings stretch even my need for hyphens, periods and elipses…*smile*  Elipses…They are my favorite and you will find them often here…as this one girl rambles on sweeping the temple.

Sweeping The Temple.  What is it?  Its my physical body and the need to clean the place up.  It’s the thing that He refers to in the Bible when He says in 1 Corinthians chapter 6 verse 19, “Or do you not know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and you are not your own? For you were bought at a price; therefore glorify God in your body and in your spirit, which are God’s.”  Yeah. While the King is in residence, perhaps I may want to spiffy things up a bit…LOL!!  Now Now…someone will inevitably comment that the condition of our heart is whats important or that we are spiritual beings in earthen vessels…ALL TRUE.  I just happen to be of the thought that perhaps when He said that life more abundantly was mine to have that perhaps being able to walk up with the stairs without huffing and puffing might have been included. 

So this is my journey.  Broom in hand.  Prepared to do what’s asked of me by the one that created me.  Surrender?  Absolutely needed and He has it from me.  This isn’t a cake walk or something I take lightly however my ramblings take shape.  It’s my need to stand with my eyes and heart wide open for all to see.  My transparent heart.  My candid and honest conversations with God and myself.  You will get it all.  Will you join me?  Will you find yourself at a place where the journey to physical freedom through health and wellness is a priority for you?  I’m at the starting line and I would love for you to walk with me…the more the merrier!!  I’m beyond excited to see where God will take us…Oh yeah…that’s the other thing…I dont know the destination.  A slimmer me/you?  Perhaps…  Lower numbers on the scale?  Let’s hope so…  A reconciled image in the mirror between the girl I see and the one HE sees?  *smile*  Most definitely.  His word says that as I draw close to Him, He will draw close to me. 

It is only through intimacy with Him that such things can take place. 

Are you ready? 

Grab your brooms and let’s begin sweeping our temples.

12 thoughts on “Reality and Sweeping The Temple

  1. Nice post, Brenda – yes I too am in a “season” of healing – and I join you to do what needs to be done – It’s been a LONG year – and I’m getting better – and so will you ♥ So glad you are finding healing through writing like me ☺

  2. I’m with you, Girlfriend! I would be delighted to cheer you on! We need to be in great shape if we are going to run the course in excellence.

  3. These are some awesome ramblings. I am very impressed, you need to come across the boat and encourage us over here! I began my journey to a healthier me last January with a wonderful incentive. It was a long hard journey and took a lot and I mean a LOT of self control, asking myself a second time if i really wanted it or if I wanted to see more improvements. You can do it Brenda. Thanks for the encouragement and looking forward to part 2!

  4. Awesome Brenda! I am so glad to be a part of this journey with you! Its an amazing ride, and amazing to discover what your body can do !
    I am here for you!!

    Tami

  5. Brenda, you are as eloquent in your writing as you are in your speech. It’s been a priveledge to be a witness to your journey, you know I’m with you!

  6. Brenda ~ wow this is fantastic! I’m so excited for you! funny thing, although it shouldn’t come as a surprise because we have traveled so many of the same roads, I’ve been doing the same thing. I look forward to the journey with you. remember that I am here for you.

  7. “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, And lean not on your own understanding; In all your ways acknowledge Him, And he shall direct your paths.”
    Proverbs 3:5

    I’m not an avid Bible reader but I found this and thought it was appropriate. I use to have to memorize it as a kid. That may be why I don’t read it much anymore. My two cents are that you are beautiful inside and out. No matter how much you weigh I will always think that. I do agree that it is healthier for you. But, I hope this journey does not discourage you! That’s why I found the scripture quote above. When Abby was born I weighed 250 lbs. I’ve realized, exercising everyday really helps with my mind and body.

    Now, since you did ask for my comment on the matter I must leave this little blurb with a few quotes from Charles Bukowski:

    “There is nothing that teaches you more than regrouping
    after failure and moving on. Yet most people are stricken with fear. They fear failure so much that they fail. They are too conditioned, too used to being told what to do. It begins with the family, runs through school and goes into the business world.” — Charles Bukowski

    “The problem was you had to keep choosing between one evil or another, and no matter what you chose, they sliced a little more off you, until there was nothing left. At the age of 25 most people were finished. A whole goddamned nation of assholes driving automobiles, eating, having babies, doing everything in the worst way possible, like voting for the presidential candidate who reminded them most of themselves.”
    — Charles Bukowski

  8. Sounds like we’re getting closer to that “bowl of broccoli” – very exciting! I love you beautiful and I am excited I get to be a part of your journey.

  9. Brenda
    As always I see your heart and your love for Him in every word and you have once again inspired me. I never thought of taking care of myself as Sweeping the Temple, but it’s so appropriate.
    It will be a journey of self-discovery and examination, but one so worth the time and effort. One step in front of the other my friend. I love you and will be with you every step of the way.
    Love Judy

Leave a Reply

