At the End of the Day…

all that there is… Is my Savior and me.

Really.

I mean it.

It’s really all that is left.  Me and my Creator.

I fret, fuss, attempt to control, get angry, disappointed in those around me…and there He is.

I experience joy, gladness, contentment, love, peace….and there He is.

The Scriptures say “Before the foundation of the world was laid…I knew your name and called you…”

Before.

When it all started.

Before Adam.

Before Eve made that fateful decision for us girls…darn Eve… 🙂

Before…and at the end of the day.

Interesting to me.

See…you’re reading me work this out in my head.  This thing that, to some, seems so simple yet we live in a world of people not committed to following Christ. 

And the Word says “The end of the matter is better than the beginning….”

He was there in the beginning….and is there at the end.

Yet…people say the dash (-) between the numbers is what is important….hmmm….

Different things, you say?  Perhaps…

And perhaps, as He so desires, He is in the midst of it all.

In my good, bad, indifferent, love, anger, parenting, sweeping, working, etc…There He is.

So simple, you say?

Then why don’t I acknowledge Him in all things?

Hmm…Who is really sweeping my temple?

What about the days that my broom sits quietly in what I think is my closet?

Those days that I eat what I shouldnt, say what I know not to, and do what I want even when it’s not right…my broom sits quietly….

Or does it?

Psalm 138:8 says “He will perfect that which concerns me.”

So on those days that I think my broom sits quietly by…My Savior…My Creator, The Author and Finisher of my faith…is still sweeping…

Yes, my sisters and brothers…He is ever on the job…even when our efforts can’t come close to matching His…

Even when we don’t feel the broom has even seen the light of day…for days.

When I was a little girl, I would sit in church…second pew on the piano side…Sunday mornings and evenings  …between my mom and dad and sing at the top of my lungs…

“Great is Thy faithfulness, O God my Father;
There is no shadow of turning with Thee;
Thou changest not, Thy compassions, they fail not;
As Thou hast been, Thou forever will be.
Great is Thy faithfulness!
Great is Thy faithfulness!
Morning by morning new mercies I see.
All I have needed Thy hand hath provided;
Great is Thy faithfulness, Lord, unto me!”

Amen.

He is so faithful, Church. 

I now stand in my kitchen and sing the very same song…its been an anthem in my life for 35 years…and continues to be today. 

I have that Someone that has never left me nor forsaken me. 

I have that Someone that promises me that He is perfecting that which concerns me. 

I have that Someone that tells me that I am the apple of His eye.

I have that Someone that tells me that no weapon formed against me shall prosper.

I have that Someone that tells me that I am more than a conqueror.

And so do you.

Really ! These promises are for you too!!!

He is in the beginning, the middle and the end of things. 

Creating, perfecting, loving and sweeping.

He’s in your stuff…Sweeping your temple….loving you.

Great is thy faithfulness, Oh God…even when we aren’t. 

Especially when I’m not. 

Thank you, Lord, that you knew me…really knew me before even a single blade of grass was created..before anything.  Thank you that you continue to be about my business, perfecting that which concerns me.  Thank you for sweeping my temple and growing me into the person you have created me to be.  Thank you for your faithfulness in times that I can hardly be faithful to those around me.  Transform me, oh God, by the renewing of my mind…  Remind me that I was created in your image and while I may not be able to see the reflection clearly today, may those around me always see You in me.  I love you…thank you for loving me.

Amen.

Keep Sweeping…

4 thoughts on “At the End of the Day…

  1. Something about having people all up in my business bothers me, but when you talk about it being Him that is all up in my business, somehow that is just fine with me.
    And I am so thankful He is sweeping for us.
    Somedays when we feel that no one loves us, is there for us, appreciates us, just knowing deep inside that He is there watching out for me, loving me, appreciating me just for me, makes me at peace.

    Great job as always Bren…..you always seem to touch me when you write…errr sweep! Love You!

  2. Thanks for the reminder, Brenda! You are right on! It truly is about “At the end of the day”. Keep on getting in my business, Lord, until I get it – and do something about it to change!

  3. I’m right there with you on this one Brenda. It seems the longer the journey – the more questions I have – and the deeper the knowledge that He is faithful and with me every step of that journey – actively pursuing me – gently leading me and supporting me when I really blow it. And I blow it so often – without even trying – I seem to have a real “talent” for it. At the end of my day – I want to remember how He was faithful and always there – even when I was not faithful – even when I strayed away and wanted my own way. Even then. Thanks for allowing your words and thoughts to help others ♥

Leave a Reply

