Day One: Project Restore – Personal Grace

One day at a time…Its all I can do…all I know.

Right.

It’s what I can say and type but how many of us try to pack a week into a day? How many wait/procrastinate and then try to do a cram everything into an afternoon? I do.  And while I have the capacity to do that most weeks, there are definitely times I have done it and paid for it in the days following.  My body doesn’t like it.  AT ALL.

I remember a song we used to sing in church, I’ve posted the lyrics below..

ONE DAY AT A TIME, SWEET JESUS
(Marijohn Wilkins / Kris Kristofferson)

Sung By: Cristy Lane  Also recorded by: The Alexander Brothers; Judy Collins; Phil Coulter; Floyd Cramer; Carlene Davis; Florida Boys; Tennessee Ernie Ford; Foster & Allen; Bill Gaither; Don Gibson; Arthur Greenslade; Lee Greenwood;George Hamilton IV; Sharon Hardman.

I’m only human, I’m just a woman.
Help me believe in what I could be
And all that I am.
Show me the stairway, I have to climb.
Lord for my sake, teach me to take
One day at a time.

Chorus:
One day at a time sweet Jesus
That’s all I’m asking from you.
Just give me the strength
To do everyday what I have to do.
Yesterday’s gone sweet Jesus
And tomorrow may never be mine.
Lord help me today, show me the way
One day at a time.

Do you remember, when you walked among men?
Well Jesus you know if you’re looking below
It’s worse now, than then.
Cheating and stealing, violence and crime
So for my sake, teach me to take
One day at a time.

(Chorus)

Do as I ask, Lord…not as I do.  It reminds me of Paul when he said, “I do what I know not to and that which I know to do, I do not.”  Well, my body has had enough.

I spent last Monday and Friday in the doctor’s office again and my numbers don’t look good.  It’s due to my inconsistency and unwillingness to comply.

My girl, Molly, says…”You can make progress or your can make excuse, you decide.”

My husband says, “We start from here and we move forward.”

The Bible says, “For a righteous man may fall seven times, And rise again…” (Proverbs 24:16)

And rise again.

I’ve been this way before, you know.  You can read earlier posts and see that my life was once full of doctors, “procedures” and hair loss…meds, meds and more meds…

But today…today was different.  After all my appts, etc…I heard Him so clearly this morning…”We wont be coming this way again…restoration and freedom is yours. Now let’s get you transformed by the renewing of your mind.”

Truth be told, I want Him to heal me instantly.  I don’t want to hurt, take meds, lose my hair, limit myself anymore.  I don’t want anything associated to having to think about going somewhere and making provisions if I get tired, sick, etc.  I just don’t.  I want to be a wife and mother…I want to do and be all that God has for me.

And He says…”I want that too and so we are going to walk this out together…strenthening your body, spirit and emotions as we go along.  My grace is sufficient, Daughter, let’s get moving. No need to beat yourself for what you think you’ve not done, cast your cares upon me, I will take them for there is no condemnation to be found here.”

Oh.

Grace.

oh, man.

THAT.

Not His grace…I get that…but giving myself grace and knowing that its HIS strength that I walk in.  It’s in my weakness that He works best.  And regardless of what the girl in the mirror might reflect to my distorted vision, I am beautiful and created in his image.  I DONT HAVE TO DO IT ALL!!!

Now my head knows that but catch me in the midst of my day or talk to my family at the end of the day and it will show a much different picture.

Slow down, sister.

The Psalmist writes, “He leads me beside the still waters, He restores my soul….”

Restoration…doesnt that sound divine?  It does to me.

See…I’ve overcome and know that I continue to by the blood of the Lamb and the word of my testimony…its what this blog is…what Twitter is…what Facebook is for…what my writing and speaking are for…Its for everything I don’t say outloud to those that are watching from a distance.

I am created in HIS image and that is just good enough.

*smile*  The girl in the mirror is catching up to that and I love it.

So today is day one of Project Restore.

I will walk this out with my Saviour and Friend.

I will take it one day at a time, sweeping the temple that He resides in.  He is worthy to have a residence swept clean for His presence.

I will give myself the grace that I assure others is there and unmerited.

My goodness, friends…He is a good God.

Pray for me and this journey, please.  Nothing better than to know heaven and earth are moving on my behalf because the saints are praying.

I’m praying for you!

Keep Sweeping!

3 thoughts on “Day One: Project Restore – Personal Grace

  1. Bren, we have both tried to do more than we should, and now that we are mothers and wives, that has increased tenfold. We can only do what we can do. The universe will not cease to exist if we don’t get those errands done, or make that homemade meal for our family, or clean that closet, or vacumn the house. But, if we don’t take of ourselves, and renew our spirit, then our own universe will cease. Take time for you Sis, and never forget that God and me, WE LOVE YOU, just the way you are.

  2. I hear you, Brenda. Over the last couple of years I keep hearing the Spirit say, “Less is more. Focus on a few things. Take time to rest and refresh.”
    This week I am on spring break. Easter break. Finally, today, Tuesday, the fourth day of my time off, I slowed down enough to hear Jesus remind me that I don’t have to do it all and that He will do the heavy lifting for me. I nestled into that comfort and thought why don’t I spend more time here?!

Leave a Reply

